Send your Call or Congress to

CALL. 31.05.2015: The 2015 Seminar for Arabian Studies - London (England)



LUGAR/LOCATION/LUOGO: British Museum (London, England)

ORGANIZADOR/ORGANIZER/ORGANIZZATORE: Seminar for Arabian Studies - Department of the Middle East - The British Museum ; British Foundation for the Study of Arabia

INFO: call - web -


We are very pleased to announce that the 49th Seminar for Arabian Studies Conference will be held at the British Museum from Friday 25th July to Sunday 26th July 2015.

'The Seminar for Arabian Studies is the only international forum that meets annually for the presentation of the latest academic research in the humanities on the Arabian Peninsula from the earliest times to the present day or, in the case of political and social history, to the end of the Ottoman Empire (1922). The Proceedings of the Seminar for Arabian Studies are published the following year in time for the next Seminar'.

Call for Papers

If you wish to offer a paper, please send an abstract to on or before the 28 February 2015 for consideration by the Steering Committee. Do not send abstracts to any other e-mail address. Abstracts submitted after the deadline may be accepted or rejected at the discretion of the Committee.

Abstracts must include: 1) the name(s) and full contact details and affiliation(s) of the contributor(s); 2) the title of the proposed paper; 3) what the proposed paper intends to cover; 4) an outline of the approach it will take; 5) an indication of the significance of the topic; 6) five keywords; 7) up to three relevant bibliographical references. Abstracts are limited to 200 words maximum (not including items 1, 6 and 7). Abstracts that are significantly over the word limit may rejected.

Presentations are limited to 20 minutes, with an additional 5 minutes for discussion.

Due to programme time constraints, and the ever-increasing number of abstracts received, there is no guarantee that all papers will be accepted. The Steering Committee will select those abstracts that are most scholarly, with a focused statement of thesis or importance, clear aims and methodology, well-organized research data, specified sources, and coherent conclusions. As in previous years, the Committee will normally only accept one abstract from any given project.

Only those papers that are actually presented at the Seminar will be considered for publication in the Proceedings of the Seminar for Arabian Studies, and they will be subject to editorial and peer review. Focus Session Proposals The Committee is happy to consider possible

Focus Session Proposals.

A Focus Session Proposal must include a minimum of four papers and have a clear scholarly focus with the explicit purpose of promoting discussion and debate on work currently in progress, the current state of scholarship, issues involved in the application of new approaches and models, etc. A proposal for a Focus Session should include a summary of up to 200 words outlining the purpose of the Session, along with abstracts formatted as outlined above for individual abstracts. The Committee will still consider each focus session abstract individually. A Focus Session chair may be nominated by the proposer but a final decision on this will remain with the Committee.


The Seminar is very happy to receive submissions for the presentation of research posters. All posters presented at the Seminar must have an abstract approved in advance by the Committee; other posters will not be accepted. The deadline for the submission of poster abstracts is the 31 May 2015. A poster abstract submission form and guidelines will be available on the Seminar’s website soon.

For further information please contact or write to: Seminar for Arabian Studies, c/o The British Museum, Middle East Department, Great Russell Street, London, WC1B 3DG, UK

The Steering & Editorial Committee

Dr Derek Kennet (Chair), Dr Robert Wilson (Treasurer), Dr Orhan Elmaz (joint editor of PSAS), Ms Sarah Morriss (Secretary and joint editor of PSAS), Dr Mark Beech, Dr Rob Carter, Dr Nadia Durrani, Professor Robert G. Hoyland, Dr Julian Jansen van Rensburg, Mr Michael C.A. Macdonald, Dr Harry Munt, Dr Venetia Porter, Dr St John Simpson, Dr Lucy Wadeson, Professor Janet C.E. Watson, Professor Alessandra Avanzini, Professor Soumyen Bandyopadhyay, Dr Ricardo Eichmann, Professor Clive Holes, Professor Khalil Al-Muaikel, Professor Daniel T. Potts and Professor Christian J. Robin

categorías / tags / categorie

Fasti Congressuum is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License
© 2014 by Fasti Congressuum. Proudly created by M. Cristina de la Escosura