Send your Call or Congress to

CALL. 20.10.2016 [PANELS]: 10th Celtic Conference in Classics - Montreal (Canada)




LUGAR/LOCATION/LUOGO: McGill University ; Université de Montréal (Montreal, Canada)

ORGANIZADOR/ORGANIZER/ORGANIZZATORE: Elsa Bouchard ; Bill Gladhill ; Douglas Cairns ; Nandini Pandey ; Anton Powell (Founder and Chair)

INFO: ; ; ; ;


The Celtic Conference in Classics (CCC) will hold its 10th meeting, its first in N. America, at McGill University and Université de Montréal from 19-22 July, 2017. Proposals are invited, from established scholars of any country, for panels for which they themselves would – in co-ordination with the Conference organisers – identify and invite speakers, and act as chairs. Panels may be on any aspect of Greek or Roman Antiquity and its reception. Some 16 50-minute sessions are available to each panel. From experience, the CCC prefers that most papers be of c.35 minutes, followed by c.15 minutes for discussion, but a few shorter papers are allowable. The number of speakers invited for each panel is almost always in the range 10-20. Papers may be given in English and French. Several panels at each past conference have resulted in collective volumes. Panel chairs are, of course, welcome to make their own arrangements for publication. An idea of the CCC in general may be got from the website of the 2016 event, held at University College Dublin: The Dublin conference had 21 panels and some 330 members. The CCC is in ethos democratic and inclusive. A degree of migration between panels is encouraged. Cross-fertilisation between specialisms and national traditions is a main ideal of the CCC. The CCC’s allegiance is not to any campus or country. This means that the Conference has no residual treasury; each event is funded almost entirely by the conference fees paid by speakers and others who attend. This independence allows the Conference to rotate between agreeable venues of its choosing (as, for example, in the past Dublin and Edinburgh, Rennes and Bordeaux…). Proposals for panels for Montreal 2017 should be sent before October 20th to the organising committee. Questions to the committee are welcome. Elsa Bouchard <> Bill Gladhill <> Douglas Cairns <> Nandini Pandey <> Anton Powell (Founder and Chair) <>

categorías / tags / categorie

Fasti Congressuum is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License
© 2014 by Fasti Congressuum. Proudly created by M. Cristina de la Escosura