Send your Call or Congress to fasticongressuum@gmail.com

Colloquium on Material Culture and Ancient Religion. Religion and Empire: Agency and Intersecting Id


go to CALL FOR PAPERS

The Colloquia on Material Culture and Religion are occasional traveling programs for scholars of Christian origins and related disciplines. The goal of the colloquia is to help participants engage archaeology and material culture in their research and teaching.


The 2018 colloquium will explore the theme, “Religion and Empire: Agency and Intersecting Identities,” and will focus on Rome and the surrounding areas. Our site visits and discussions will focus on the topography, architecture, institutions, and objects found at the intersections of political, economic, and religious interests.


FECHA/DATE/DATA: 16-17-18-19-20-21-22-23-24-25-26-27-28-29/07/2018

LUGAR/LOCATION/LUOGO: (Roma, Italy)

ORGANIZADOR/ORGANIZER/ORGANIZZATORE: Steven Friesen; Rubén Dupertuis; Daniel Showalter; Christine Thomas; James Walters

INFO: web - rdupertu@trinity.edu

INSCRIPCIÓN/REGISTRATION/REGISTRAZIONE:

Individual / single / individuale: $4,100

Doble / double / doppia: $3,500

PROGRAMA/PROGRAM/PROGRAMMA:

Monday, July 16 Participants arrive Rome Optional before dinner: Imperial Fora and the Column of Trajan Opening dinner

Tuesday, July 17 Walking tour in Rome: Roman Forum, Palatine, Colosseum Capitoline Museum

Wednesday, July 18 Via Appia, Mausoleum of Mettala, Villa di Massenzio, Caracalla Baths Pantheon Ara Pacis Mausoleum of Augustus (external site) Research reports

Thursday, July 19 Ostia, Isola Sacra Palazzo Massimo alle Terme

Friday, July 20 Museo Nazionale di Castel Sant’Angelo (masoleum of Hadrian) Vatican Museums and Nekropolis Research reports

Saturday, July 21 Travel to Tivoli Hadrians’ VillaMuseum Capitolini Centrale Matemartini Research Reports

Sunday, July 22 (Almost) Free day in Rome

Monday, July 23 Travel to Pompeii Stops in Sperlonga and Cumae Research reports Group dinner

Tuesday, July 24 Pompeii

Research Reports

Wednesday, July 25 Naples Museum and sites

Thursday, July 26 Herculaneum

Friday, July 27 Pompeii II and half-day free

Saturday, July 28 Travel back to Rome Stops at Baiae and Pozzuoli Closing banquet

Sunday, July 29 Departures

categorías / tags / categorie

Fasti Congressuum is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License
© 2014 by Fasti Congressuum. Proudly created by M. Cristina de la Escosura