Send your Call or Congress to fasticongressuum@gmail.com

Translating Greek Drama (1600-1750) - 10-11/12/2020, Online (Zoom)

go to CALL FOR PAPERS

Understanding the early modern reception of ancient drama is a cross-cultural, multilingual and collective effort. Recent diachronic explorations of ancient theatre in translation have recorded and analysed translation theories and practices in separate European languages, especially English and French. Drawing momentum from the European scope of previous collections, the aim of this conference is to bring together researchers focusing on translations of ancient Greek drama throughout Europe between 1600 and 1750 and, in collaboration with the translation database at the Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (Oxford), provide a platform to gather and exchange information on three different levels.


FECHA/DATE/DATA: 10-11/12/2020

UPDATE: Due to the current situation, the conference Translating Greek Drama (1600-1750), which was supposed to be held in Paris on 11-12 June 2020 at Université Sorbonne Paris Nord, has been postponed to 10-11 December 2020.

LUGAR/LOCATION/LUOGO: Online (Zoom)

ORGANIZADOR/ORGANIZER/ORGANIZZATORE: Malika Bastin-Hammou (Grenoble); Giovanna Di Martino (Oxford); Cécile Dudouyt (Paris 13), with the support of Université Grenoble Alpes, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord, and the Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (Oxford).

INFO: giovanna.dimartino@classics.ox.ac.uk

INSCRIPCIÓN/REGISTRATION/REGISTRAZIONE:


Inscripción online / registration online / registrazione online

PROGRAMA/PROGRAM/PROGRAMMA:

Panel 1 - First Vernacular Translations of Aristophanes

10.00-11.15 Paris time / 9.00-10.15 London time

Discussant: Fiona Macintosh (Oxford)

• Malika Bastin-Hammou (Université Grenoble Alpes) L’Aristophane français du bénédictin Dom Lobineau. À propos d’un manuscrit méconnu (c. 1700)

• Simone Beta (Siena) Traduire Aristophane à Sienne. Le Ploutos et Les Nuées de Giovan Battista Terucci (ou de Giuseppe Fabiani ?)

• Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow) James White’s Aristophanes

(15 mn Break)

Panel 2 – Neo-Latin Sophocles

11.30-12.30 Paris time / 10.30-11.30 London time

Discussant: Victoria Moul (UCL)

• Thomas Baier (Würzburg) Eighteenth-Century Translations of Euripides by Lodewijk Caspar Valckenaer

• Cressida Ryan (Oxford) Seventeenth-Century Latin Sophocles: Not a Lingua Franca

(15 mn Break)

Panel 3 – Euripides in the Vernacular

12h45-13h45 Paris time / 11.45-12.45 pm London time

Discussant: Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow)

• Emanuel Stelzer (Verona) The Earliest English Translations of Euripides’ Medea and Alcestis

• Claudia Cuzzotti (Independent) Italian Translations and Adaptations of Euripides’ plays between 1600-1750

(One-hour Lunch Break)

Panel 4 - Contemporary Criticism and (Re-)Translations

14h45-16h30 Paris time / 1.45-3.30 pm London time

Discussant: Lucy Jackson (Durham)

• Giulia Fiore (Bologna) How to Make a Tragic Hero. Understanding Agency in Early Modern French and English Drama

• Angelica Vedelago (Verona) The Strange Case of Sophocles and Mr May: Functionalized Reception in Thomas May’s The Tragedy of Antigone (1632)

• Antonio Ziosi (Bologna) What a Translation Cannot Confess. The Case of Dryden and Lee’s Oedipus

• Giovanna Casali (Bologna) “…questo si ha dalla favolosa invenzione degli antichi Poeti”. The Reception of Ancient Sources in Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Opera

(15 mn Break)

Panel 5 – Translation and Reception Theory

16h45-17h45 Paris time / 3.45-4.45 pm London time

Discussant: Claire Lechevalier (UNICAEN)

• Giovanna Di Martino (UCL) and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris 13) Intertextuality, Performance and the Politics of Translation

• Estelle Baudou (APGRD), Giovanna Di Martino (UCL), and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris13) Translation in Practice Workshop

Plenary

17h45 - 18h30 Paris time / 4.45 - 5.30 pm London time

Discussant: Tiphaine Karsenti (Paris Nanterre)

categorías / tags / categorie

Fasti Congressuum is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License
© 2014 by Fasti Congressuum. Proudly created by M. Cristina de la Escosura