Send your Call or Congress to fasticongressuum@gmail.com

The Late Republic Populism(s), Power Structures, and Interpretative Frameworks - 02-03-04/05/2020, O



Georgy Kantor created a stimulating list of reading for quarantine, “40 books on Roman History”. Liv Yarrow responded by highlighting via twitter women who have contributed to the topic particularly women writing on the late Republic and Augustan age. This led to many replies suggesting further names and highlighting of work of the WCC (UK) to create and maintain Wikipedia pages for female scholars in our field. In this context, David Rafferty brought up the importance of German scholarship for the field.


FECHA CONGRESO/CONGRESS DATE/DATA CONGRESSO: 02-03-04/05/2020


LUGAR/LOCATION/LUOGO: online


ORGANIZADOR/ORGANIZER/ORGANIZZATORE: Carlos Noreña/Liv Mariah Yarrow


INFO: web


INSCRIPCIÓN/REGISTRATION/REGISTRAZIONE: gratis/free/gratuito, obligatorio registrarse/compulsary registration/registrazione obbligatoria, aquí/here/qui


PROGRAMA/PROGRAM/PROGRAMMA:



Session One

Saturday, May 2, 2020, 4-6 pm San Francisco, 7-9 pm New York = Sunday, May 3, 2020, midnight-2 am London, 1-3 am Sevilla, 8.30-10.30 am Adelaide, 9-11 am Sydney

Ayelet Haimson Lushkov, “Populist Historiography in Livy”

Kathryn Welch, “On the politics of being heard: M. Antonius (cos 99) orator”

David Rafferty, “Caesar’s consulship in 59 and Levitsky & Ziblatt’s ‘How Democracies Die'”

Anise Strong, “A Quantitative Analysis of Elite Marital Alliances in the late Republic”

Carlos Noreña, “The Exclusionary Politics of the Late-Republican Aristocracy”


Session Two

Sunday, May 3, 2020, 9-11 am San Francisco, noon-2pm New York, 5-7 pm London, 6-8 pm Sevilla = May 4, 2020, 1.30-3.30 am Adelaide, 2-4 am Sydney

Dominic Machado,”What is Popular Politics? A Postcolonial Reappraisal of Republican Power Dynamics”

Amy Russell, “The populus Romanus”

Tim Elliott, ‘Populist populares in Livy’

Cristina Rosillo-López, “Politics outside institutions in Late Republican Rome”

Olivia Thompson, “the relationship between management of a household (res familiaris) and management of a ‘state’ (res publica) in late Republican rhetoric and its role in the shaping of the Augustan government”

Panayiotis Christoforou, “The populus Romanus in the early Principate“

Hosts:

Liv Mariah Yarrow, contact: yarrow [at] brooklyn [dot] cuny [dot] edu

Carlos Noreña, contact: norena [at] berkeley [dot] edu

Format:

Presentations of no more than 10 minutes by scholars interested in the topic who have self-nominated to present, followed by cross talk open discussion. If a disproportionate number of self nominated presenters are men, women presenters will be recruited. Participants will take an anonymous zoom poll whether they want in-the-moment discussion following each presentation OR discussion after presentations. There will be no more than one hour of formal presentations leaving a full hour for discussion.

categorías / tags / categorie

Fasti Congressuum is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License
© 2014 by Fasti Congressuum. Proudly created by M. Cristina de la Escosura